कैथोलिक चर्च, पूर्णिया (Catholic Church) – Purnea

Roman Catholic Church of Purnea

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Purnea is a diocese located in the city of Purnea. 318,190 The Holy Father John XXIII, by the Apostolic Bull, "Exultet Sancta Mater Ecclesia", established the Diocese of Dumka on August 8, 1962.

36 years later hence the Diocese of Purnea is born from Dumka through a declaration of Pope John Paul II on August 11, 1998. It is an Angelus Church.

The history of the Catholic diocese of Purnea can be traced back not just to these 36 years, but to almost 236 years. Records show that in 1773 Purnea district of that time was already forming part of the Vicariate of the Great Moghul, which was served by the Jesuits and later by the Carmelites. Subsequently, Rome attached Purnea to the neighbouring Prefecture of Tibet under the Capuchins, with Patna as its headquarters. In 1820 it became part of the Agra Vicariate. By then the Capuchin Fathers had been regularly visiting Purnea from differ…

Read more about कैथोलिक चर्च, पूर्णिया (Catholic Church) – Purnea
  • 0

पूर्णिया (Purnea/Purnia)

Purnia is the biggest city in the north-eastern part of the state. Bihar, The word ‘Purnia’ translates to ‘full jungle’, ‘Purna’ means ‘full’ and ‘Aranya’ means ‘forest’ in the dialect of Sanskrit. Purnia is a sought-after tourist destination. It is also believed that Purnea received its name from a very old puran mata teample.

Panchmukhi Hanuman Temple, Purnea

Purnia District is one of the thirty-eight districts of the Indian state of Bihar. The city of Purnia is the administrative headquarters of this district. The city of Purnia has continued its tradition of hoisting the national flag at 12:07 am on every Independence Day since 1947. Purnia district is a part of Purnia Division. The district extends northwards from the Ganges river. Purnia is the unofficial capital of Seemanchal due to its financial and educational importance. Three districts were partitioned off from Purnia district: Katihar in 1976, Araria and Kishanganj in 1990. Purnia district has four …

Read more about पूर्णिया (Purnea/Purnia)
  • 0