कला भवन / राजा कलानंद का महल, पूर्णिया (Kala Bhawan / Palace of Raja Kalanand Singh) – Purnea

Deorhi at Garhbanaili (Purnea) hosts the ruins of Kala Bhawan the ancient Darbar (Palace) of Raja Kalanand Singh, where his successor still lives.

Kala Bhawan / Palace of Raja Kalanand Singh, Purnea

Raja Kalanand Singh is listed in the official directory of the Coronation Durbar of 1911 as one of those attending the ceremonies.

The name of the estate derives from a village Banaili in the then Purnia district of Bihar. Banaili Raj also known as Garhbanaili Raj was a zamindari estate based in the Indian state of Bihar. They were considered one of the ruling dynasties of the Mithila region. Rulers and holders of this estate were Maithil Brahmin.

The main centres of residences of Rajas of Banaili are Banaili, Ramnagar, Champanagar, Srinagar, Garh Banaili, and Sultanganj. Bhagalpur was the centre from where administration of the estate was carried out.

Read more about कला भवन / राजा कलानंद का महल, पूर्णिया (Kala Bhawan / Palace of Raja Kalanand Singh) – Purnea
  • 1

पूर्णिया (Purnea/Purnia)

Purnia is the biggest city in the north-eastern part of the state. Bihar, The word ‘Purnia’ translates to ‘full jungle’, ‘Purna’ means ‘full’ and ‘Aranya’ means ‘forest’ in the dialect of Sanskrit. Purnia is a sought-after tourist destination. It is also believed that Purnea received its name from a very old puran mata teample.

Panchmukhi Hanuman Temple, Purnea

Purnia District is one of the thirty-eight districts of the Indian state of Bihar. The city of Purnia is the administrative headquarters of this district. The city of Purnia has continued its tradition of hoisting the national flag at 12:07 am on every Independence Day since 1947. Purnia district is a part of Purnia Division. The district extends northwards from the Ganges river. Purnia is the unofficial capital of Seemanchal due to its financial and educational importance. Three districts were partitioned off from Purnia district: Katihar in 1976, Araria and Kishanganj in 1990. Purnia district has four …

Read more about पूर्णिया (Purnea/Purnia)
  • 0